Crowne Plaza: Beijing Airport

If you need to stay near Beijing’s Airport, the Crowne Plaza is a good choice. It’s not as expensive as the Hyatt and offers a free shuttle outside gate 5, which leaves ever 30 minutes. I checked out the Ibis Hotel, but the photos shown online posted by guests indicated that the rooms had a lot of wear and tear.

I knew I’d be exhausted and wanted a clean, quiet, comfortable room. I got that at a good price, since I used my affinity club points ($40). All the non-smoking rooms were booked. I naively thought nowadays a smoking room wouldn’t smell. Wrong. The first room I was taken to had a cigarette stench. Yuck. I told the bell boy this was more than I could handle and I wouldn’t be able to sleep. A few minutes after talking to the front desk, I was in a bigger, more fresh smelling suite. I was delighted by their prompt service and ability to make sure I was happy and able to sleep well.

As a Priority Club member, I was entitled to a free welcome drink. Here’s a tip. Remember that China’s wine isn’t the greatest. Don’t order it as it just won’t match what a Westerner is used to. Get a beer or soft drink. It’s not the hotel’s fault, they aren’t in the wine business. Since I was leaving the next day for Jinan, the airport hotel made sense.

If you’re staying to sightsee, go into the city, the closer to Tianamen Square the better.

Note: A problem arose when the hotel charged me $200+ saying that I hadn’t booked with points. I tried to explain, but it seemed that the staff’s English wasn’t advanced enough to resolve the issue. I tried to work this out but never got the hotel to pay with points. I find trouble with Chinese hotels and companies. They don’t want to take anything but cash.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader
This entry was posted in Accommodations, Asia, Bargain and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

