Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share is a time for us to take a break out of our lives and enjoy some timely catching up with friends (old and new)!

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that on Saturday I attended my new book club discussion over Zoom. We read the first four short stories from The Best Short Stories by Black Writers. I recommend three of them. “Fern” by Jean Toomer was just a description with no real plot. Chesnutt’s “The Sheriff’s Children,” Dunbar’s “The Scapegoat,” and Fisther’s ‘Miss Cynthia” all had plots that surprised and well drawn characters. I admit that the group goes off on tangents a lot so we don’t spend much time on the stories. A lot of book clubs do that.

I’d mention there’s no news on the job hunt front. I do have a phone hearing about my unemployment case this Friday.

Today a friend I worked with on the Census will begin to volunteer at a food bank where we went dozens of times to get hard-to-count people to complete the Census.

I watched Cold War, which was written and directed by Paweł Pawlikowski. When I think about what a disaster the main character were with their betrayals and the woman’s character, I wonder why I like the film so much. It is beautifully shot and the folk music and beginning of the film were captivating. I suppose it’s a bit of a siren’s song.

I got several query emails or letters sent to local theaters to see if they’d be interested in producing my play. I realize that aside from some virtual programs, theaters are closed, but I need to stay active and at least try to market my writing. I’ve started researching for a new play, but must plug along. I don’t want to write and write and just have my work sit in a drawer or on a laptop.

To join Weekend Coffee Share just write a post with anything you’re prompted to write or images you’d like to share and then add a link or ping back to Natalie the Esplorer’s post.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader
This entry was posted in Experience. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekend Coffee Share

  1. Natalie says:

    Thank you for the ping back to my blog. I hope your week goes well, and you’ll be able to join the Coffee Share blog party on the upcoming weekend. #WeekendCoffeeShare

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.