Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share is a time for us to take a break out of our lives and enjoy some timely catching up with friends (old and new)!

To participate, just create a post and link it to Natalie the Explorer’s post.

from the NYPL Digital Collection

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you about the amazing tour I took yesterday of Chicago’s Auditorium Theater. Built in 1889, it was designed to be a people’s theater and hosted operas, plays, ballets, indoor baseball games (yes, that was a thing in at the turn of the century), political conventions, lectures, and in time rock concerts. The guide was amazing. He has attended over 1,500 performances at the Auditorium and when he was 10 he read about the restoration of the Auditorium and donated $20 of his savings to it. Now he’s retired and works at the theater. More on that soon.

This was the first time I’d gone downtown since March 2020. It was rather deserted. There were some boarded up buildings and on Jewelry Row, the shops no longer display their wares.

I’d tell you that I won a $50 restaurant from my village. They’re sponsoring a weekly drawing. If you go to a restaurant and spend $25 or more, you get entered into a drawing for a $50 gift certificate. Whoopie! I won.

St. Stanislaus Kostka

I didn’t have to tutor this Sunday so I went to church in the city at St. Stanislaus Kostka. I’d visited at Christmastime and was blown away with its majestic beauty.

Also my walking pal and I took advantage of the spring conditions and returned to walking around the lake park near us.

I started reading Longshoreman Philosopher Eric Hoffer’s True Believer. Wow! Known as the offers a potent framework for looking at history and current events.

Wednesday I attended an online book discussion of Shakespeare’s The Tempest. I read the play and watched the 2010 film. I’m not much of a Zoom fan for these events. The moderator didn’t notice many people’s raised hands and he talks so much about himself. I’m taking a breather for next month, though I’ll read the book.

All in all, it’s been a good week.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader
This entry was posted in Blogging Challenge, Experience, Weekend Coffee Share and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Weekend Coffee Share

  1. My hubby and youngest daughter visited Chicago quite a few years ago for a soccer tournament. I’ve never been, unless you count the airport..lol.Visiting from Weeekend Coffee Share

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Astrid says:

    I truly loved reading your tale about the auditorium. I can imagine the tour was great indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Bear says:

    I love visiting old theatres… they’re so beautiful. the newer ones are…let’s face it… ugly and utilitarian. In the old days, theatres were about more than just what happened on the stage. It was about the whole experience. It is a sad loss for our society, I do believe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • smkelly8 says:

      I wholeheartedly agree. Even factories were more attractive in the 19th century and early 20th. Not safer, but prettier. Then there’s the big box store vs. the grand old department stores. Beauty is important.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bear says:

        Yes, it is. I remember when a trip to Woolworths was a grand day excursion complete with lunch, afternoon tea, and even a hair salon. I was only a little girl at the time when Granny would take me… But they always made you feel like royalty. Now, it’s all about greed and cheap.

        Liked by 1 person

      • smkelly8 says:

        Those were the days. I’m glad I was a child when I was. I would probably been happy in earlier times too.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Bear says:

        I’ve had many ask me if I thought that maybe I had lived in colonial times as I seem so much at ease when doing living history. No, I say, I just love living the simple life is all. I didn’t grow up with electric or running water (unless the creek is considered running water. LOL!) So living without them is almost natural for me. Winter is about the only time I really use electric, and that’s because I hate to be cold.

        Like

  4. Glad you had a good week. And lucky you to win something. Take care.

    Like

  5. Hi SMK, I don’t think I’ve ever seen the altar of St. Stanislaus Kostka. That is amazing! Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.