Weekly Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share is a time for us to take a break out of our lives and enjoy some timely catching up with friends (old and new)!

If we were having coffee, the library ordered Call Me Tai Tai and I’m enjoying this book about an expat’s time in Shanghai. I met the author a couple weeks ago. While the life of an expat, who’s married to an executive, differs from a teacher’s life, there are a lot of similarities. I smile as I read about her reaction to the traffic, water dripping through her ceiling, her first medical exam and more.

Note: Most libraries will purchase books patrons suggest. Take advantage of this.

Tonight I’m looking forward to hearing Jeanie Ives, an Illinois politician speak to a local group.

It’s been bracingly cold here. Wednesday we got a bit of snow, which melted as soon as it touched the ground. I’m guessing this will be the last spring snow, but who knows.

Snake Pit

I started watching Olivia de Havilland in Snake Pit. This intense drama was recommended by a fellow election judge. The story of a woman suffering from mental illness who’s committed to a mental institution, Snake Pit received many Academy Awards nominations for 1942.

I’ve started researching for a new play. I want to write about the first election after suffragists secured the vote for women in Illinois. I need to limit the cast to six or under as I’m told when theaters do reopen, they’re keeping casts small for safety and financial reasons.

Sunday I visited St. Mary of the Lake church, a gorgeous church.

About smkelly8

writer, teacher, movie lover, traveler, reader
This entry was posted in Architecture, Blogging Challenge, Culture and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Coffee Share

  1. chava61 says:

    I have recommended books for local libraries to purchase. But there is a limit to how many books one can suggest during a particular time frame.

    Like

  2. Jackie says:

    Darn, I couldn’t find that book at our library.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kirstin says:

    Wow. That church is stunning!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.